Review: Down with Love by Kate Meader

As a long time fan of Kate Meader, I had high expectations going into Down with Love. She has written a few of my favorite sports and blue collar contemporary romances and I was really looking forward to reading about a sexy divorce lawyer (Max) and a wedding planner (Charlie) falling in love. Unfortunately, the only thing I really loved about this novel was the gorgeous cover.

I think part of the problem was the first person narrative and the distracting breakdown of the fourth wall. I was immediately jarred because all my previous Meader reads were in third person. I think I could have gotten on board with the change if I did’t have to start the book in the hero’s head.

If I hadn’t received an ARC of this novel, I would have DNF’d the novel after chapter 2. It’s been a while since I’ve read a truly egotistical, self-congratulating, jerk face and I’ve realized my tolerance is very low. The way Max routinely objectifies women then talks about his own self-importance made me want to pull my hair out. I know that heroes are often

Charlie is the gorgeous wedding planner working on Max’s brother’s wedding. Cue forced proximity and enemies to lovers. One thing I did enjoy about Charlie was her unapologetic optimism about love. I also like that Meader didn’t hold any punches when it came to Charlie’s past. She’s had it rough and, completely understandably, has issues both with intimacy and her anger. I was rooting for her most of the book, unfortunately, I just was rooting for her to find someone else.

Charlie and Max had lots of witty banter and plenty of sexy times, but I was so turned off by Max’s attitude, I had a hard time connecting to the romance. I hate it when a hero resents a heroine for her wants and needs in a relationship. Charlie was upfront about wanting a committed relationship and Max pushed his own f-buddy agenda on her anyways.

Overall, I wanted to love this book and it fell so flat, so fast that I couldn’t connect with it. I am still hopeful for the rest of the series because Meader is truly a wonderful author. Fans of Lauren Blakely or Emma Chase might enjoy this novel, but I need to take a break from the over confident jerks.

**I received an ARC of this book in order to provide an honest review**

Find/Follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s