Review: Down with Love by Kate Meader

As a long time fan of Kate Meader, I had high expectations going into Down with Love. She has written a few of my favorite sports and blue collar contemporary romances and I was really looking forward to reading about a sexy divorce lawyer (Max) and a wedding planner (Charlie) falling in love. Unfortunately, the only thing I really loved about this novel was the gorgeous cover.

I think part of the problem was the first person narrative and the distracting breakdown of the fourth wall. I was immediately jarred because all my previous Meader reads were in third person. I think I could have gotten on board with the change if I did’t have to start the book in the hero’s head.

If I hadn’t received an ARC of this novel, I would have DNF’d the novel after chapter 2. It’s been a while since I’ve read a truly egotistical, self-congratulating, jerk face and I’ve realized my tolerance is very low. The way Max routinely objectifies women then talks about his own self-importance made me want to pull my hair out. I know that heroes are often

Charlie is the gorgeous wedding planner working on Max’s brother’s wedding. Cue forced proximity and enemies to lovers. One thing I did enjoy about Charlie was her unapologetic optimism about love. I also like that Meader didn’t hold any punches when it came to Charlie’s past. She’s had it rough and, completely understandably, has issues both with intimacy and her anger. I was rooting for her most of the book, unfortunately, I just was rooting for her to find someone else.

Charlie and Max had lots of witty banter and plenty of sexy times, but I was so turned off by Max’s attitude, I had a hard time connecting to the romance. I hate it when a hero resents a heroine for her wants and needs in a relationship. Charlie was upfront about wanting a committed relationship and Max pushed his own f-buddy agenda on her anyways.

Overall, I wanted to love this book and it fell so flat, so fast that I couldn’t connect with it. I am still hopeful for the rest of the series because Meader is truly a wonderful author. Fans of Lauren Blakely or Emma Chase might enjoy this novel, but I need to take a break from the over confident jerks.

**I received an ARC of this book in order to provide an honest review**

Find/Follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Review: Hidden by Rebecca Zanetti

I LOVED THIS BOOK! I have been a Rebecca Zanetti fan for years but none of her past romantic suspense novels really pushed my buttons. I tended to prefer her paranormal series. That being said, I read the teaser chapter for Hidden and knew I needed this book in my life… immediately. Boy was I right.

I was on the edge of my seat from page one and Ms. Zanetti kept me panting for more the entire book. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough! Hidden stars Pippa, a woman in hiding from a violent past and Malcolm, an ex-cop with tons of demons. They’re thrown together by outside forces and proximity and are immediately drawn to each other. The chemistry between Pippa and Mal is practically incendiary

The cult elements both fascinated me and freaked me out a little bit (in a good way). The mystery had me looking for clues on every page and the sexy, sexy romance had me working my hand fan. Hidden is everything I have come to love and expect from a Rebecca Zanetti book with a gritty, real world feel. The only part where I had to suspend my disbelief was the alcoholic, high heel wearing ex police dog. That was a little crazy, but also so hilarious and the perfect comedic relief, I forgive a little bit of zany.

While Pippa and Mal are falling in love, working through each other’s lies, and confronting their own problems, Ms. Zanetti is building a fantastic new crew of quirky characters each begging for their own book. Zanetti artfully crafts the suspense plot, romantic elements, and new cast into one complete book with a satisfying happily ever after that leaves you wishing the entire series was already written and released. Each character was well developed and I am invested in the entire new team. All I can say is: write faster please!!

**I received an ARC of this book in order to provide an honest review**

Find/Follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

38211815_2199694970045318_4787220730519486464_n.jpg